![]() |
| My Norway hat |
![]() |
| Packing |
![]() |
| My face in class everyday. |
![]() |
| Before the Vegemite |
![]() |
| After the Vegemite |
So I guess I'll start with Halloween and work my way through the month. I moved families on the 30th of October. It was basically spending the day packing up my stuff, a nice dinner with my host family, loading a ridiculous amount of my stuff into the car, and then all of us driving to my next families house. My two families had coffee together and talked, and then my first family left and BOOM I switched families.
The only bad side of the arrangement was really that I moved on Sunday night and didn't really have time to unpack until Monday after school. But to be honest, the changing family thing was way easier than I thought. I just kinda fell into a new routine after a few days, and I get along with this family great.
That Monday was Halloween, and it was basically just another day...except for the fact it was my first day with my new family I guess. I did see a few people walking around town in Halloween costumes...at 9 in the morning. And some kids were out trick-or-treating at night, but not many. One thing I did think was funny though was that there were trick-or-treaters on the Saturday before Halloween. First of all because I lived in the middle of countryside, and it's a pretty good walk to the nearest house. And secondly, it wasn't Halloween. I tried to explain to my host family why this was funny and they didn't get it.
But that week was pretty calm from what I remember. I was just getting used to taking the bus and my new routine. The week after that I was really frustrating because I barely had school. This shouldn't be frustrating though right? Wrong. See, we had all these tests in my classes that I didn't know about. So it was a lot of showing up for class, realizing I didn't have to be there, and then leaving. Also one of my classes was cancelled for two weeks straight. And then uncancelled, and then cancelled. One day I went to my first class, and it was a test so the teacher told me I could leave after 30 minutes. Then my next class was 4 hours later, and I would have taken the bus back home and then come back to school later, but I didn't have a bus card yet and I didn't want to pay. So I waited in the library. Did I mention I was waiting 4 hours to walk back up a hill to go to one 40 minute long class where I literally do nothing except have my name counted on the roll. Yeah well, when I got to class the teacher told us we could have a "study day" and go home. This happened about 3 more times that week, but with milder waits before class.
Oh I also switched classes that week. Like the main class that I have Norwegian, History, Gym, and Math with. So now most of my classes are at the Barbu school and I don't have to walk back and forth as much.
And last week I barely had school too, but I timed it better so I didn't show up to class if it wasn't happening. The downside to having so many tests I can't take is all my friends have to study for them but I have nothing to do, and since my classes are cancelled or I don't have to show up I never get to see my friends or talk to anyone. But they're basically over now. Thursday, Friday, and all of next week is something like midterms, so I don't have to go to school for 5 days.
Last weekend I went to Tønsberg to visit my friend and roommate from Language Camp Marina. My host dad had to go up there so he dropped me off on Friday and I took a train to where he was staying in Sandelfjord on Saturday. Friday night was Nina's (another exchange student) birthday, so I went with Marina to her party and saw a few other exchange students. I also got to see Tønsberg a bit during the trip. I slept over at Marina's on Friday night and we watched Forest Gump. It was fun.
This past weekend I went to see Breaking Dawn with some friends from my classes. The movie was shown in the biggest theater the cinema has, and it's a little smaller than the smallest one at the Pompano Muvico. And it's assigned seating, so we have to buy tickets together. It was a bit depressing at the end though when I realized by the time the second half of the movie comes out I will be long gone and probably watching it back in the Pompano Muvico with the same friends I've been going to see the Twilight movies with since the first one came out in 2008. That's weird to think about.
On Sunday, my friend Synnøve and I went by the water on Hisøy (the island where I live now) and took pictures.
Well I can't think of anything else to say, except for it's getting colder and darker and I haven't really minded until today. Today I just woke up cold and tired, and it's 1 PM and I still haven't woken up. Yesterday I took the bus at 4:30 and walked home from my stop in the pitch black, with ice on the road. That should give you an idea of what I mean by 'dark'.
If you want me to talk about something in particular then leave a comment and let me know. If I have ideas of what to write, or any feedback at all *hint hint* than it might encourage me to update more often...just saying.








Love your Blog Ellen! Would love to see some pictures and news about your new host family (house, host parents, siblings, neighborhood). Also, was the movie in English or Norwegian? Also, tell us what new classes you are taking now. And how you are celebrating Thanksgiving. Keep the blog coming, we all look forward to reading about your experience there.
ReplyDeleteSounds like you're having so much fun!! Are you going to be fluent in Norwegian by the time you get home?
ReplyDeleteAre your classes similar to the ones at home in terms of content? Do Norwegian HS students do the same sort of extra-curricular activities that kids do here? I would love to hear more about how you life there is both different and similar!
ReplyDeleteI would love to hear about the island Hisoy.
ReplyDeleteHey Ellen, loved ur pics and ur blog. I haven't seen breaking dawn yet and looking forward to it, well tell me this, is the movie anything like the book. Happy Thanksgiving!!
ReplyDeleteSorry this was the only way I could sign in, so that one above is mine, Aunt Karen
ReplyDeleteOnce again, love your blog! :) are you going home for christmas? if not, what do you think christmas will be like in Norway?
ReplyDeleteAnd also, do you what's your favorite thing to do when you don't have homework or any other plans?